Negative ion formation by low energy electron attachment to gas-phase 5-nitrouracil

Ptasińska, Sylwia; Alizadeh, Elahe; Sulzer, Philipp; Abouaf, Robert; Mason, Nigel J.; Märk, Tilmann D. and Scheier, Paul (2008). Negative ion formation by low energy electron attachment to gas-phase 5-nitrouracil. International Journal of Mass Spectrometry, 277(1-3) pp. 291–295.



Dissociative electron attachment (DEA) to gas phase 5-nitrouracil (5NU) is studied using a double focusing sector field mass spectrometer and a hemispherical electron monochromator (HEM) combined with a quadrupole mass spectrometer (QMS). Besides the formation of the long-lived parent anion 5NU−, low energy electron impact (<20 eV) leads to a number of anionic fragments. The ion yield for all observed negative ions has been recorded as a function of the incident electron energy. The most dominant negative ion observed was (5NU–NO2)−, which is produced directly in the ion source and also weakly as a product of a metastable decay of 5NU−. These experiments were supported by quantum chemical calculations based on the density functional theory to calculate the electrostatic potential and molecular orbitals.

Viewing alternatives


Public Attention

Altmetrics from Altmetric

Number of Citations

Citations from Dimensions
No digital document available to download for this item

Item Actions



  • Item ORO ID
  • 15142
  • Item Type
  • Journal Item
  • ISSN
  • 1387-3806
  • Project Funding Details
  • Funded Project NameProject IDFunding Body
    Studies in radiation damage to DNA and its component biomolecules &nbsp;LSI Fellowship Dr Sylwia PtasinskaEP/D067138/1EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)
  • Extra Information
  • Some characters in the above abstract may not have reproduced correctly. Please refer to the publisher's definitve version by clicking on the DOI URL.
  • Keywords
  • electron attachment; dissociative electron attachment; radiosensitizers
  • Academic Unit or School
  • Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) > Physical Sciences
    Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
  • Research Group
  • Physics
  • Copyright Holders
  • © 2008 Elsevier B.V.
  • Depositing User
  • Astrid Peterkin