The Open UniversitySkip to content

The Orchestrated Guitar

Jones, Allan (2019). The Orchestrated Guitar. Soundboard, 45(2) pp. 32–37.

Full text available as:
Full text not publicly available (Version of Record)
Due to publisher licensing restrictions, this file is not available for public download
Click here to request a copy from the OU Author.
Google Scholar: Look up in Google Scholar


This article looks at the orchestral versions of three guitar pieces from the 1920s: Manuel de Falla’s 'Homenaje pour le tombeau de Claude Debussy', Joan Manen’s 'Fantasia-Sonata' and Pierre-Octave Ferroud’s 'Spiritual'. In each case the orchestral version was made by the composer himself. Comparison of the versions yields insights into the creative processes of these composers, and allows interpretative inferences to be drawn.

Item Type: Journal Item
Academic Unit/School: Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) > Computing and Communications
Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
Item ID: 62624
Depositing User: Allan Jones
Date Deposited: 01 Aug 2019 15:18
Last Modified: 17 Jun 2020 18:44
Share this page:

Actions (login may be required)

Policies | Disclaimer

© The Open University   contact the OU